Your Right

Your and you’re – two words with very different meanings that people have started using interchangeably. At least I can understand how this error started, which is more than I can say of most nonsensical grammatical errors. Few people make the effort to enunciate the you in you’re (I do) and instead slur it into your when speaking. The logical result of always saying a word incorrectly is the inadvertent misspelling of it.

Your and you’re are not, of course, interchangeable. Your is possessive: your cat, your hat, your mat. You’re is an abbreviation (contraction) of you are: you’re fine, you’re mine, you’re nine.

Imagine how confusing conversations would be if we took the mispronunciation/spelling of you’re literally.

“Fine, I give up. Your right.”
…”My right what?”
“Pardon?”
“My right what? Hand? Foot?”
“I didn’t say your right. I said Your Right.”
“My right to do what?”
“What?”
“My right to do what?”
“I didn’t say your right! I said YOUR RIGHT!”
[Jumping to his left] “What!”
“What are you doing?”
“I thought there was something on my right.”
“Stop it! I didn’t say anything about your right! I Said Your Right, Correct, YOU WIN!”
“Ohhhh. You mean “you’re right”.
“That’s what I said!”
“No it isn’t.”
“Yes it is!”
“No, it really isn’t.”
[Sigh] “Your impossible!”
…”My impossible what?”

1 Comment

Filed under Grammar

One response to “Your Right

  1. Pingback: Thumbs Up for Castle « Grammar Tales

Leave a Reply

